PRESENTING: MY ANTI BEIGE LIVING ROOM

Just after giving birth to my daughter Evelyn I completed this fun video project with Style At Home. Their web team came in and captured the transformation of 3 rooms in my home. As I have said before, completing this in less than 3 weeks with 2 kids under 2 was very adventurous. But I’m a girl who loves adventure- so here is the tour of the first room, my living and dining room.
I wanted the space to feel cool and sophisticated but very comfortable and practical for my young family. I started the design of this space with a huge hit of pretty with this Sanitas wallpaper from The Home Depot. Economically priced at under $40 a roll, it allowed me to take the wallpaper the length of my entire hallway. I paired it with this wool rug from The Home Depot and for some whimsy this rocking horse from Mjolk. To create the vibrancy that occurs when layering pattern on pattern, I used this great applique pillow from Mjolk paired with a Dwell Studio fabric on the throw pillows.

Crazy deal- this white pedestal table ran me a total of $5 at a garage sale.

Textiles are a big deal to me, and I knew I wanted a mix in this space. For window treatments, I went to InVu Drapery Co. and selected a pair of their Luxury-To-Go, Ready-Made Drapery panels. I layered them with a more casual pair of charcoal panels from Urban Barn. For some warmth, I love my Mongolian sheep skin toss cushions.I opted to go without a traditional coffee table to allow for more space for my kids to play. Instead I chose small occasional tables like this one from Mjolk. For lighting, I chose a casual drum shade from The Home Depot.

I’m so thankful to have this piece of art in my home. It reminds me of our recent volunteer trip to Rio de Janeiro created by the very talented Becky Simpson of RLS Studios. Lastly, we purchased this contemporary bar height white lacquered table from Crate and Barrel (sadly it is now discontinued!). In truth we bought it not only for it’s style, but for the very practical reason that it is too high for our toddler son to climb on top of. You have to think about these things when you have kids! The lacquer top gently reflects this painting from Urban Barn as well as the paint colour, Raindrops (P5204-24) by Para Paints.

In short, it’s a stylish space for my family to enjoy. And it is SO much better than what it looked like before (thank God no more beige!):

Thanks for coming by and stay tuned for the tour of my office!

One response to “PRESENTING: MY ANTI BEIGE LIVING ROOM

  1. Pingback: Wallpaper sanitas | FantasyWearOnline

Leave a Reply

