CALIENTE COLOURS WITH COBI LADNER

Meet Cobi Ladner. Many of you may remember her as the Editor in Chief of House and Home magazine, where for 15 years she curated Canadian style. Now she’s back on the shelves in a different way- introducing cobistyle, her fantastic new line of furniture, drapery & accessories available at InVu. I had the pleasure of interviewing Cobi and Lisa Nicholl, CEO of InVu, to chat about colour, chopsticks, and why Cobi thinks she may be Asian.

LC: I love the collection. So much colour! It’s so nice to see more than just neutrals. Do you think Canadians are ready for it? We aren’t exactly known for embracing colour…

CL: Yes, Canadians are ready for colour- and the Canadian magazines are starting to reflect it. Canada is multicultural- and many of these cultures celebrate colour in their food, dress and decor in their home countries, so that definitely influences things here as well. (Cobi tip- use a colour 5 times in a room for balanced impact).

LC: Speaking of culture, the line has a strong Asian influence (chopsticks, lanterns, prints). At events I often see you in Asian inspired tunics as well. Where did the Asian influence come from? A trip as a child?

CL: No- never been! How did this 6 foot tall red head become obsessed with the Asian aesthetic- I’d honestly like to know too! But I have always loved it. I think it’s something about the tradition, heritage and timelessness that I see in Asian design.

LC: What’s your favourite product Cobi?

CL: It’s so hard as I really do love them all! When I was at H&H I developed the product line and I worked very hard on every single product to ensure it was something I loved- this is even more true with this line. I love every piece, and I want to share the things I love with everyone else! But if I had to narrow it down, I love the lanterns. And the chopsticks. And the pillow behind you.

LC: It matches my nails. And Lisa- what’s your favourite product?

LN: This caliente print is my favourite. The fabric came from Spain.

Cobi tip: use her fake peonies and rinoculas for an instant splash of colour.

LC: Talk to me about working with InVu. How did that partnership come about?

CL: While developing this concept, I decided the only way to ensure great product was to work with leaders in their respective fields- and Lisa Nicholl knows drapery. She also “gets me”, and understands what makes sense for cobistyle when she’s shopping around the world.

LC: The “gets me” part is important. It’s like what I do for my clients- interpreting, translating their style. Lisa and her InVu team are translating the cobistyle brand into great draperies and home goods.

LN: And it’s a collection we are very proud of.

Above with bloggers Wendy Hicken, Christine DaCosta. Lisa Nicholl and Cobi Ladner.

 Oh wait there’s more…

I’m giving away one set of colourful cobistyle chopsticks from InVu! To enter:

– leave a comment below

– for an extra entry, tweet the following:@lisa_canning loving colourful Cobi Ladner http://bit.ly/eATj60

– for another entry, like Lisa Canning Interiors on Facebook!

Contest is open to Canadian & US residents. Prize will be mailed. Winner will be selected at random. Contest closes Friday, April 22, 2011 at 5pm. Winner will be announced and contacted via email shortly after. Good luck!

7 responses to “CALIENTE COLOURS WITH COBI LADNER

  1. Lucky you! It must have been a fun day. I love Cobi she is such a beautiful woman. She’s one of my first ‘favourite’ designers for her use of colour.

    P.S.
    – I’ve also liked your page on FB
    – Tweeted the post (and mentioned the giveaway!)

    *bisous*
    Dane

  2. Yeah! Finally colorful chopsticks!

  3. Love to win these! So happy to see Cobi back.

  4. Pick me, I would love these in my home.

  5. Thanks for this contest!

  6. Hmmm…would be kind of interesting to tackle an Easter egg with chopsticks. Thanks for hosting the giveaway! Happy weekend!
    Jordana

  7. Pingback: GIVEAWAY WINNER |

Leave a Reply

