FRIDAY 5: A LITTLE HONESTY

With the Lenten season upon us I’m doing lots of introspection- so for this Friday 5 I’m going to be a bit more personal. I’m inspired by posts like these by Janice, Jennifer, and Jen. Thank you, this trio of honest J’s, for sharing- for having the courage to do so and for articulating it so well!

So on to my Friday 5- a little honesty, a little randomness, a little of what I am going to be focusing on in the coming weeks.

1. Be more quiet. I basically live with my phone attached to my hand. I used to convince myself that it was for work, for my branding, that incessantly checking Facebook/Twitter/Intagram/Pinterest/LinkedIn/Email was extremely important at every second and letting a few minutes go by without checking in would result in some kind of insane dramatic disaster. I love my phone and the convenience it allows me but I have made a conscious effort to reduce my screen time and breathe a little more- the tweets and the posts and images and the responses will all still come- I am just going to refrain from checking as often as I do. Now how I am going to fill all that time…

2. I am going to read. I honestly have no idea the last time I picked up a book.  An actual, paper, crinkly paged, ink printed book. I got beautiful design books for Christmas that I have yet to crack the spine. I have tons of paperbacks in organized piles in my office. It is time to take a stroll to my favourite bookstore and get lost in some aisles. Any suggestions for adventure laden, imagination stirring, vocabulary building books are welcome. I am also going to welcome…

Screen shot 2013-02-15 at 11.07.33 PM3. More unmeasured time with my husband and kids. Look how delicious he is! I listened to a talk by a parenting expert suggest the term and it’s something I need to do more of- unmeasured time. Time that is aimlessly spent making puppets out of paper bags, forts out of blankets, and cuddling galore. They are the most important people in my life and I am going to make a more conscious effort to invest in their adorable selves. I’m going to slow down and just be present- craving this a lot. Also craving…

4. A little cake. Or a lot. Dessert of almost any kind, really. Not going to discriminate here. Creme brulee. Tiramisu. Macaroons. That really good almond cake I buy for pocket change at IKEA (I think it’s my favourite in this list). Instead of feeling bad about eating it I am just going to enjoy it. Maybe with some wine. Which reminds me. I should really…

5. Drink more wine. 

Happy Friday!

One response to “FRIDAY 5: A LITTLE HONESTY

  1. Yes, yes, and yes. I have so many of those on my list of goals too. And who wouldn’t want to spend more time with that little cutie L! Thanks for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

