BACK TO REALITY

Anyone else feel the grind a bit more heavily this week with the aimlessness of summer now at a close? As the mom of a JK student now (*sniff*) I definitely felt it. I am kind of longing for another holiday!

If you’re feeling like it’s difficult to get back to reality, here are a few inspiring things to peruse to lift your spirits and inspire:

1. 11 MAGNIFYING USES FOR SMALL SPACES

Mashable just published a great round up of innovative small spaces. If you’ve read enough of my blog, you know how much I love the challenge of living small. I particularly love the Living Cube, which provides the homeowner storage while maximizing on height.

20130904-185938.jpg Image by Rob Lewis

2. GLITTER GUIDE
Through the wonderful goodness of Instgram I stumbled upon theglitterguide.com, a beautifully curated lifestyle website. Among beauty and fashion they feature a “Style At Home” section, where they feature some lovely, lived-in, stylish, aspirational, and just inspiring to look at spaces. This space of jewelry designer Zoë Chicco is so glam and fun.
20130905-022417.jpg Photo by Bryce Covey

3. KNOT PR’S MUSINGS
I’ve long admired the beauty and brains duo behind Toronto PR firm Knot PR, Amy Burstyn Fritz and Tatiana Read. It was such a pleasure to work on Knot PR’s first office- and now that they’ve grown we’re at it again, with a design plan in the works for their newest digs on Toronto’s Esplanade. To get inspired I’ve been reading their blog for the inside scoop on the life of a boutique PR firm- loving this piece on what’s in store for the Canadian Opera Company this Fall.

4. STORK AND BABE
Skip over this if you’re not pregnant- but as someone who has done this four times now, let me tell you what a challenge it is to find reasonably priced, trendy maternity clothing. I just about cried when I saw some of the modern (and modestly priced) pieces for this new line for Thyme. Can’t wait to get my hands on a few pieces.
20130905-023616.jpg
5. ESCAPE AGAIN WITH AMEX
Full disclosure- I am currently not an Amex affiliate or is this a sponsored post at all- I simply just love the benefits my Amex SPG card gives me. I use my Amex Starwoods Preferred Group card for all my business purchases, and the points entitle me to free stays in beautiful hotels around the world that I probably wouldn’t spend the money on myself. We just returned from a little getaway to Collingwood and since we take advantage so much our Gold level membership gives us great upgrades upon check in and other bonuses. It’s helpful when looking forward to our next getaway to know the cost of our hotel stay will be taken care of.
20130905-024123.jpgBlue Mountain Westin Resort in Collingwood

Wishing everyone a great first week of September!

Leave a Reply

