BUILDING YOUR PROFILE: BLOG PODIUM RECAP

This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending Blog Podium, Canada’s premier conference for design bloggers. I came away with some amazing insights- here are my top highlights:

1. HAVE A UNIQUE POINT OF VIEW:
This applies to both my roles as designer and blogger. It was interesting to learn from Sarah Richardson in her keynote address that when she designs for a client, they typically fall into one of four categories: shore (her signature blues and white palette), lane (greens and earth tones), boulevard (upscale details, muted palettes), and sidewalk (fun, whimsical). As a designer I can definitely see themes in my own work although I’ve never put names to them- will totally do this exercise!

20130927-015653.jpgSarah Richardson talking about her design themes.

In blogging a unique point of view is so important. As the ever so stylish Stephanie Sterjovski of SS Print Shop shared, “give your readers a reason to come back everyday.” I’m hoping to do more of this as well with more personal posts.

My resolution: Schedule one “personal post” a week. I want to share my unique viewpoint about my lifestyle and style beyond interiors. This might include posts featuring my wardrobe, paper products, what I do with my kids on the weekend, what I cook for my family. Excited to share a more personal viewpoint with you here.

2. BE CONSISTENT
One thing that every expert said in all workshops I attended, was to be consistent- blog on a regular schedule and stick to it. I will again admit that this has been a challenge for me in the past- but I am a stubborn woman and will find a way to make the time for it!

My resolution: Blog three times a week, no exception. This starts on Monday!

3. BE SUPPORTIVE AND ELEVATE OTHERS
I’ve learned by observation how wonderful and supportive the design blogging community can be. I myself have made dear friends as a result of following a blogger’s journey on-line and then meeting up off-line. I have blogged about it before, I am a firm believer that in business and in life if you are good to others, the goodness will be returned in some form.

My resolution: Spend one hour a week supporting / reading / elevating / commenting on other blogs / colleagues pages. Even more- connect with one new blog / designer / brand a week and say hello.

A very big round of applause to Jen Flores and her team for the incredible amount of hard work they put in to this event! 20130927-015617.jpg Jennifer Flores and presenter Keka Dasgupta

2 responses to “BUILDING YOUR PROFILE: BLOG PODIUM RECAP

  1. Wonderful takeaways, Lisa. I love your last resolution – if it weren’t for blogs, I wouldn’t have met you! xo

  2. Pingback: DRESSING THE BUMP |

Leave a Reply

