RELAXING ON A SATURDAY

20140315-142014.jpg
Today, somewhat of a miracle happened. I was able to ACTUALLY relax on a Saturday morning. This may sound like a no brainer (isn’t everyone supposed to relax on a Saturday?) but with 4 babes under 4 it actually requires a lot of brain power.

So to celebrate my success at being able to get through (AN ENTIRE!) cup of coffee without being interrupted, I would like to share how it happened (and perhaps it will help other busy moms out there get a wee quiet moment):

1. JAZZ MUSIC
We love music in this house- the guitar comes out every evening and there’s quite a bit of (loud) singing on a regular basis. Toronto’s Jazz FM streamed on my laptop kept my children unusually docile this morning. And it was a lovely mellow way to ease into the day. So chill.

2. NEW COLOURING BOOKS
It’s amazing the impact a new dollar store activity book has on my kids. AND A NEW PENCIL? They’re in heaven. My husband had the brilliant idea to keep a whole bunch of stickers, books etc. stored away to bring out as a surprise (especially in moments of utter chaos to act as a diffuser). And let me tell you it works wonders. So great this morning.

3. KIDS PRACTICE INDEPENDENCE
I keep things kids need on the regular within their reach: a bucket of crayons, paper for drawing, box of Lego so they can practice being independent (and I can sit. And caffeinate. SO IMPORTANT).

4. PREP THE NIGHT BEFORE
When possible, we really try and prep the kitchen the night before so that in our sleepy staggering the next morning, it is as simple as possible to a) make coffee, b) make breakfast, c) make coffee.

I think my coffee maker is my 5th child.

A happy Saturday to all! I hope yours was off to a relaxing start.

Leave a Reply

