SHOPPING ON-LINE VS IN-STORE: A LOVE NOTE TO A FAV RETAILER

20140318-145133.jpg
This morning over my tea I read this interesting article in the National Post’s Financial section, on the topic of Amazon as an “everything” store, and what retailer Indigo has to do to keep up. At the end of the article, Peter Foster posits that “[Indigo] has to find some way of doing it better, or go the way of Eaton’s”. (Which incase you are not familiar was a Canadian retailer that closed its doors in 1998 after 130 years as being the largest department store in the nation).

It got me to thinking about shopping on-line, vs in-store. I must admit- shopping on-line is pretty darn convenient. I have been known to shop in my pj’s, and with small kids sometimes it is just easier to point and click from the comfort of my home.

20140318-131615.jpg

20140318-131624.jpg

But as these images from Indigo’s Instagram feed would suggest, it is pretty darn inspiring to step into a well
merchandised retailer (cheers to whoever designs Indigo’s product displays). And beyond pretty merchandising, Indigo’s product assortment is just so lovely. And to view the lovely in person is just way more fun. Full disclosure- I often go to the Bayview Village Indigo just be get inspired. Rainy day? Go to Indigo. Cranky kids? Go to Indigo. Need a coffee? Go to Indigo. It has become a spot of comfort for me in my neighborhood, like a reliable friend , a warm hug. A spot of infinite possibilities to be discovered in books, a destination for instant mood elevation by way of updates for my sofa, my walls or my arm candy collection.

While shopping on-line is so convenient, it won’t ever replace the in-store experience for me. You just cannot replace it.

Disclaimer- no part of this post was sponsored in any way. This is a sincere love note to one of my favourite retailers. Ironically, (or not ironically), the tea set I drank out of this morning pictured in the first image above was purchased, you guessed it, from Indigo.

3 responses to “SHOPPING ON-LINE VS IN-STORE: A LOVE NOTE TO A FAV RETAILER

  1. I agree, Indigo is just one of those stores that is best experienced in person. Maybe we’ll just have to make a date and meet up there?? 😉

  2. I am an in person buyer most if the time. I do a lot of online browsing but rarely buy. Indigo is totally one of the best places to shop in person. And they also have done such a great job diversifying their merchandise to make the experience even better. Cheers to experiencing things live!

Leave a Reply

