WHAT TO DO IN DOWNTOWN BUFFALO

20140526-200412.jpg
Canning kids Buffalo selfie!

Happy Memorial Day to my US readers! I am happy to report I contributed to the US economy this Memorial Day weekend (aka I went shopping) via a quick road trip to Buffalo, New York.

The family and I decided somewhat impromptu to take a quick trip south. We stayed at the Embassy Suites in downtown Buffalo, which was super clean, friendly staff, with free breakfast and happy hour snacks / cocktails (cocktails are always so appreciated).

20140526-201255.jpg

20140526-201305.jpg

20140526-201314.jpg

The kids and I decided to explore downtown Buffalo on a Saturday afternoon- and architectural highlights we saw in the form of old, character filled buildings. But people- and stuff to do- we did not. I learned pretty quickly that downtown Buffalo isn’t exactly a happening place- so our little exploration afternoon consisted of riding the free trolley 3 stops south and then 3 stops north 🙂

20140526-201838.jpg

20140526-201846.jpg
The highlight for me was exploring the nearby Fatima shrine in Lewiston, New York. The kids had lovely time exploring the grounds, finding their patron saints, and getting the vitamin D we have waited so patiently for!!! And the grounds basically confirmed I need to have a pond in the backyard of my next house (no wait- I did not just say that! My #canningreno needs to end and then I am never moving…)

I hope my US readers are all having a wonderful long weekend! How did you soak up the sun?

Leave a Reply

